Friday, 29 June 2012

Politics behind presidential elections

"राजनीती एक ऐसी शतरंज है जिसमे शह किसी को दी जाती है और मात किसी और को"

During the whole month of June Indian politics was dominated by the presidential elections that will be held on 19th July, 2012. The first big movement was seen on 13th June, 2012 when Trinmool Congress's (TMC) chairperson Mrs. Mamata Banerjee and Samajwadi Party's (SP) chairperson Mr. Mulayam Singh Yadav suggested three names for the post of Indian President.

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (Former President)
Dr. Manmohan Singh (Current Prime Minister)
Mr. Somnath Chatterjee (Former Loksabha Speaker)

In addition to above mentioned names, Mrs. Mamata Banerjee added two more names for presidential elections on the suggestion of Congress President Mrs. Sonia Gandhi

Mr. Pranab Mukherjee ( Finance Minister)
Mr. Mohammad Hamid Ansari

Mr. P.A. Sangma had previously declared his candidacy and started working for the support of different political parties with the pre-support of Tamilnadu’s chief minister Ms. Jayalalitha and Orissa’s chief minister Mr. Naveen patnaik.
Press conference held by Ms. Mamata Banerjee and Mr. Mulayam Singh Yadav on 13th June, 2012 favored an advantage to congress. From earlier days Mrs. Mamata Banerjee has been pressurizing United Progressive Alliance (UPA) on various matters and Mr. Mulayam Singh Yadav is the perfect candidate to fill the space of Mrs. Mamata Banerjee. It was profitable and also necessary for TMC (Trinmool Congress) to have differences between SP (Samajwadi Party) and Congress.

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam saying "Dont take rest after ur first victory. because if u fail in second, more lips are waiting to say, that ur first victory was just luck.
On other side congress actively announced the name of Mr. Pranab Mukherjee on 15th June, 2012 for the post of president. Mrs. Mamata Banerjee amazed on seeing SP (Samajwadi Party) chairperson Mr. Mulayam Singh Yadav supporting Mr. Pranab Mukherjee for the election. Other than UPA (United Progressive Alliance) member parties, BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party), Shiv Sena, JDU (Janata Dal United) also announced their support for Pranab Mukherjee. After analyzing the entire situation Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam announced to take back his step from the presidential election. After all these up and downs only two contestants remained in the field and they are :-

Mr. Pranab Mukherjee
Mr. P.A. Sangma

Now let’s talk about the main opposition party BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) and NDA (National Democratic Alliance). An appropriate quote for this situation would be “Weak ruling party alliance in front of a weaker opposition alliance”. In this whole episode from starting till the end, NDA (National Democratic Alliance) remained in the situation of indecision and set back as a silent observer. In the end two of the NDA (National Democratic Alliance) member parties i.e. JDU (Janata Dal United) and Shiv Sena had taken different paths and announced their support for Mr. Pranab Mukherjee. From the rest of the NDA (National Democratic Alliance) which is mainly BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) was left with a single choice of supporting Mr. P.A. Sangma (Nirdaliya).

In this chapter of Indian politics SP (Samajwadi Party) chairperson Mr. Mulayam Singh Yadav came up as a Machiavellian politician whereas, TMC (Trinmool Congress) chairperson Mrs. Mamata Banerjee was seen on fringe. On the account of many of the main political parties supporting Mr. Pranab Mukherjee, it is most likely for him to be our next president. In between all the ups and downs of the political equations the situation of uncertainty has resolved but which new alliances arises from the general election of 2014 will be something to wait for. 

No comments:

Post a Comment